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CARAVANS

Trade caravans have formed, in order to be able to use known routes more efficiently. Use the caravans in this mini-expansion, to
transport goods and improve or double them, or even score valuable points.

CONTENTS AND SFETUP

The setup of the base game applies, however, the material of this mini-expansion is added as follows:

CONTENTS EE é *] Shuffle the 4 new characters together with the ones from the base game.

4 characters Next, draw characters (Number of players plus 1) and pick your characters,

5 caravans ﬁ as usual.
10 route tiles 8 ] ey Attention: In order to get to know the new characters, you can also start

1 score board @®E0ig  playing with just those instead.

Place the caravans, symbolized by 0o T < - Place the scoring board next to the game
“w boxes, next to the player board of the — = & =2 board, clearly visible.
““ respective color. The gray caravan is only | | ==/ =25 B@ED | Also place the route tiles next to the player
1] needed when playing Tartarino . Put £ ) eSS @) supply, faceup and clearly visible, to form a
all remaining caravans back into the box | | '@ - supply.

THF, ROUTES

In this mini-expansion, you can travel along trade routs.

In order to successfully complete a route, both your caravan and your figure have to stand on the same space. How a caravan
enters the game will be explained below. All actions that include a caravan are considered bonus actions (see page 12, base game
rulebook).

PLACING AND LOADING A CARAVAN
If your figure is standing on a city (not an oasis), you may take a route tile with the matching shield icon from the supply. This is
your route now. Place your caravan on a city that shows the other shield of the route tile.

Next, you have to load your caravan with 1 or 2 goods (@ /@/& ) from your supply. You may decide, which goods it shall
transport. However, your caravan must not enter the game empty. If no fitting route tile is available, you cannot place your
caravan.
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Example:

You are in city FUIZHOLL. As your caravan is still Next you take your caravan and load it with
next to your player board, you take the route % 1@ und 1§

tile with the matching shield of the city. = you place the caravan in the city of Chengdu.
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MOVING A CARAVAN

Each time, after having used the books (market), you may move your caravan. Using the first book allows you to move your ca-
ravan 1 space, the second book 1-2 spaces and the third book 1-3 spaces. In doing so, move your caravan in the same manner
as your figure on the game board, save for the following variations:

Attention: a caravan can only travel by water if you have the matching guild seal.

 acaravan does never trigger an outpost bonus
* acaravan does not have to pay any costs (coins, camels, jade or in rare cases goods) when traveling
* acaravan cannot place trading posts in a city
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Example

You use the market and take an action on the 2. book.
After having completed the action, you move your
caravan up to 2 spaces from Chengdu to Pagan.

COMPLETING A ROUTE

You may complete your route, if both your caravan and your figure are standing on the same space.
Attention: Bonus actions must not be taken during another action. This means, that you cannot complete your route when
passing by, but only after having completed the movement.
You now do have the following options regarding your transported goods:
Double goods - place the goods from your caravan back into your supply and take another additional good of the
same kind from the general supply.

Improve goods - spend | @ and take 1@ or spend 1@ and take 14 . Put the improved goods into your supply.
Gold bars cannot be improved!
sell goods - Put the goods into the general supply and receive points according to the scoring tile.

You may decide separately for each good, how you want to use it. After having done so, put the route tile back into the general
supply, facedown and place your caravan next to your player board.

Example You decide to double the pepper bag.

Your figure and caravan are in the 4 ) You put the pepper bag from you

same city (Pagan). You decide to | o "W caravan back into your supply and

sell the gold bar. You put the gold g 3 ! . ' take 1 additional pepper bag from

bar back into the general supply i - the general supply.

and receive 6 points. 4 N Next, you place the route tile back

: ‘ into the general supply, facedown

and place your caravan next to your
player board.

GAMEPLAY

At the beginning of each round, flip over all facedown route tiles, so that they are faceup. Those route tiles are now available again.

FND OF GAMEF,

If your caravan is still on the game board at the end of the game, you may sell all remaining goods for half of the usual points.
This way, a gold bar is worth 3 points, a silk bundle 2 points and a pepper bag 1 point.

THE NEW CHARACTERS — what are their abilities?

M) Vidal Badoer (can be played in Marco Polo 1 and Marco Polo 11 alike)

| - When completing contracts, you never pay goods or camels, however, you also never receive points for the

| contracts completed.

4 - When taking new contracts using the action space on the game board (in Marco Polo 1, as well as 11), you only
receive 1 contract. All other bonuses or conditions do still apply.
- At the final scoring (points for contracts), your contracts are counted as 4 completed contracts - regardless
if you have completed more or less.
- Bonus action 1x per round you may sell 1 set @ @™ for 5 points.

Example;

You complete this contract and take 2 jade pieces from the general
supply. In order to do so, you do not have to pay, however you also
do not receive points.




Donata Badoer (can be played in Marco Polo1 and Marco Polo 11 alike)
~ 4| - At the beginning of the game, after all other players have taken their character-bonuses, you may take 3
_1| remaining figures of different colors. If more than 3 are remaining, you may choose, which ones to take.
3| You may place these figures as a 6-value die onto a free action space.
| When doing so, you must note the following:

* Each color can be used for all regularly available actions.

* You may use the figure in combination with other dice and/or also with other figures.

* You can also place the figure of your own or your fellow player’s color on a city with a trading post of
the same color.

* A figure of a color which does not belong to a player, can also be placed in cities, which do not have
trading posts.

At the end of the action, the figure immediately leaves the game, meaning that the figure will never occupy a space.
Attention: If you have already placed all your dice, your turn is over, even if you have not placed any figures yet.

- Through this character’s second ability, you receive 2 camels, each time after having used an action, which is already occu-
pied by at least one other dice.

Attention: You will never receive 2 camels for placing the remaining 3 figures, as they cannot be placed on an action space,
that is already occupied.

Example:

You use the red figure in order to | : You put 5 @ and 5 @8 from your

resolve an action in a city with a —i: supply into the general supply and

red trading post thus receive 15 points. After that, put
the figure back into the box

y Tebaldo Visconti da Piacenza (can only be played using this expansion with Marco Polo I1) &
- When moving your caravan, it may travel up to 2 extra spaces.

| - When improving a guild seal, you do not have to pay coins.

| - On top of that, you receive +1 shield at the final scoring.

1 Example: You want to move your caravan from Jaipur §& to Merw . As you possess the tailor’s guild seal, the
action on the 3. book does suffice. Thanks to your special ability, you can travel 5 spaces instead of 3.

Piedro Tartarino (can only be played using this expansion with Marco Polo 11) €@

- At the beginning of the game you receive the 2. neutral caravan. This means, that you can have 2 caravans on
the game board at the same time. Therefore, you may also take a second route tile, even if you do already have
4| one. Each caravan needs its own route. When moving your caravan, you may move both of your caravans the
“{ respective number of spaces (1-3).

- When scoring a caravan, you may put a tile of your choice back into the general supply. This way, you do not
1 have to keep track, which caravan entered the game through which tile.

- On top of this, you receive 3 points and 1 jade for each completed route.

FXCEPTIONS

e —

Mailin und Tian Chin, and Niccolo & Marco Polo + Donata Badoer %
If your fellow players, play characters, who enable them to use their 2nd figure, while you are play-

4 ing Donata Badoer, you cannot choose their colors as bonus figure. However, there always have to be
enough figures in order to be able to receive 3.

Mailin und Tian Chin in combination with the caravan:

When you place a new caravan, you must not place it in a city, in which one of your figures is current-

ly standing.
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