(t’s an [hvasion
from Mars... and WE
are the MARTIANS!
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(oVvERVIEW )

Like the original Fluxx, Martian Fluxx is an easy game to learn
because every card carries its own set of instructions. Many
folks find that the best way to learn is by jumping right into a
game, but that usually works best if at least one player in the
group has played a Fluxx game before. So, if this is the first
time for everyone, someone in the group needs to read these
rules. But don’t worry, after you've played the game a few
times, everyone will understand!

Place the Basic Rules card in
the center of the table. Shuffle
the deck and deal three cards
to each player. Place the
remainder of the deck face
down next to the Basic Rules
to form a Draw pile. At the
beginning of the game, there
will be no Goal or New Rule
cards in play yet.

How to Begin

Start by putting
the Basic Rules
card in the middle
of the table.

BASIC
RULES

PLAY 1

Shuffle
the deck.

((GO'NG FlRST)) Deal three
cards to

Whoever “calls” it goes first. each

The best way to call it is to player.

just reach out and draw a
card from the deck.

(How TO PLAY )

Fluxx is a game about change, so it's a game that changes as you play it.
It begins with just a couple of very simple rules, and becomes more

complex as additional rules are added via special cards called New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play one card), and
adapt to all additional New Rules as they are played. Players take turns,
going clockwise around the table, drawing and playing the indicated
number of cards until someone meets the current Goal condition.

| On Your Turn:

1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).

Optional actions allowed by New Rules, Keepers, etc
may be performed at any point during this sequence.

When playing a card, you may choose any card in your hand. If you aren’t
sure how a card works, try reading the full text aloud as you play it.
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(cARD TYPES )

Basic] BASIC RULES: This is the starting point — the foundation
RULES|  on which the rest of the game is built. These initial rules will
be superseded by New Rules during the course of play, but
——) this card should remain on the table at all times. The Basic
Rules are: Draw 1 card per turn and Play 1 card per turn
(with no other restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).
NEW RULE: To play a New Rule place it face up near
the Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in play,
discard the old rule. New Rules take effect instantly, so all
— players must immediately follow the New Rule as required.

This will often cause the player whose turn it is to draw or
play additional cards right away, or it may cause other
players to immediately discard some of their cards.

Examples: After drawing 1 card, you play the “Draw 4” New Rule. Now the rules
require you to Draw 4 cards on each turn, but since you only took 1 card before,
you must immediately draw 3 more cards. The next player draws 4 cards. He plays
the “Draw 2” which changes the rules again, but he draws no more, having already
gotten (at least) 2 cards. Since Draw 2 contradicts Draw 4, the Draw 4 is discarded.
GOAL: To play a Goal place it face up in the center of the
D table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game begins
with no Goal in play, so no one can win until one is played.
) The Goal applies to everyone; as soon as someone meets
these conditions, they win! (Even if it's someone else’s turn!)

KEEPER: To play a Keeper take it out of your hand and
V place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most Goals

require you to have a particular pair of Keepers, so playing a
—— Keeper is always a good thing.
ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just do
whatever the card says, then place it on the Discard Pile.
Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and yet at other
times, have no effect at all. Note that while some Actions may
cause additional cards to be played, everything that happens
as a result of an Action card is considered part of one “play.”
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Examples: If you play the Action called “Draw 2 and Use ‘em” you will immediately

draw two cards and play them both. If one of those cards is “Draw 3, Play 2 of them”
you'd keep going, drawing three more cards, playing two cards and discarding the

third. All of this activity would be counted as the playing of just one card.

CREEPER: Unlike Keepers, which are things you want
e because they help you win, Creepers are undesirable cards

which often prevent you from winning. Creepers are kept on

the table in front of you in the same area as your Keepers.

Whereas Keepers stay in your hand until you decide to play them,
Creepers are played automatically. As soon as you draw a Creeper
you must place it face up in front of you and draw another card. This
does NOT count as a “play.” You might have to accept several
Creepers at once as you draw cards, until you've drawn the required
number of non-Creepers and added them to your hand. Note that this
is true any time you draw a card, such as during an Action.

Example: If you play the Action called “Draw 3, Play 2 of them” you will start by
drawing three cards. If any of those cards are Creepers, you would place them in

front of you and redraw immediately until you have three non-Creepers, then you
would choose which two of those cards to play.

(META |
#]
WINNING

Before the first turn, all players look at their starting hand, and if they
have any Creepers, they must immediately lay them down and draw
to replace them until everyone is holding three non-Creepers.

META RULE: This type of card changes the game like a
regular New Rule, however, Meta Rules are played at the
start of the game and remain in force until someone wins.
Meta Rules are only added to the game if all players agree.

UNGOAL: The Ungoal is treated exactly like a regular
Goal, but instead of causing a player to win, if the conditions
of the Ungoal are met the game ends with all players losing.
The Humans win!

The game continues until someone meets the

conditions of the current Goal. That player
wins instantly, no matter whose turn it is!
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If the Draw pile runs out, shuffle the Discard pile, turn
it over to make a new Draw pile, and keep playing.

The game doesn’t end
until there is a clear
winner. If for some reason
two or more players meet
the winning conditions
simultaneously, the game
continues until a single
winner emerges.

Regarding Discarding:

Discarding a card is not the same as playing
it. When a card is played all instructions on
that card must be followed, if possible. You
cannot simply discard unwanted cards; you
can only discard if compelled to by a Hand
Limit. (Yes, this means you could be forced
to play a card that makes someone else win.)

New players may join at any time by being dealt a hand of three cards.



Martian Technology: This icon is used to label items of
advanced technology — you get a bonus if you have this in
play when the Martian Technology New Rule is in force.

Generic Human: Humans are generally of no use to us,
but sometimes the Goal will require you to have at least
one Human.

Female Human: Humans are of two forms, Male and
Female. Some Goals will be marked with this icon to
indicate that a Female of the species is required.

( FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS )

Q: What happens if | want to play a New Rule but there's already a
New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New
Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist?

A: It all depends on contradictions. There's no limit on the number of
New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don't interfere
with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has nothing to do
with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. However, if both rules
are about the same thing, for example how many cards to Draw, then
the new card becomes the rule and the old rule is discarded.

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3,
contradicts the Basic Rules?

A: The New Rule still supersedes the
Basic Rule, but the Basic Rules card
does not get discarded. To help to avoid
confusion, the New Rule can be placed
to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules it
replaces, as shown.

DRAW 4

Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but | only have 2 cards?
A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no cards
left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play | change the rules
to Play 3. Do | play one more card or am | done because | played 27
A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 1 more
card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.

Q: How do | interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards, |
receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be
played as well, so that | will always end up with zero cards in my hand
at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?

A: Yes.

Q: Suppose it's my turn, and the current Goal says you need 2
Keepers to win, and | have one of them, and someone else has the
other Keeper on the table. Can | just grab it from him and win?

A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal Something
Action card which allows you to do exactly that.

Q: If | play a Keeper, and | already had a Keeper, do | have to discard
the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the number of
Keepers | can have in play?

A: In this version of Fluxx, you can have as many Keepers in front of
you as you want (although other versions may include Keeper Limits).

Q: Suppose there's a Hand Limit rule in play when my turn begins,
but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is removed and
discarded as a result of another Rule card or Action card. Is it still
necessary for me to discard down to the limit that is no longer in play?
A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also
cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Is there a Creeper Limit?
A: No.

Q: How do you get rid of Creepers?

A: It depends on the situation. Oftentimes, you'll have no choice but
to keep them, but there are many ways for you to either discard them
or move them to another player, via Actions, New Rules, or the fine
print on certain Keeper cards. But sometimes you're better off keeping
your Creepers — while they usually stop you from winning, there are
times when the Goal will require a Creeper. Maybe the rules will
change so that Creepers don't prevent victory, or perhaps another
player will smite your Creeper for you. But sometimes, you just have
to be patient, and wait for things to change.

Q: If I have a Creeper that says "You cannot win if you have this card
unless the goal says otherwise," and | have everything the Goal
requires including a specific Creeper, but | also have some other
Creeper not mentioned on the Goal, do | win or not?

A: No, you wouldn't win in that situation until you got rid of (or
otherwise neutralized) that other Creeper.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean "hold the limit number, unless you
already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number"?
A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, it's
simply a cap on the number of cards you're allowed to hold.

Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to
choose what to discard, or is it random?
A: You get to choose.

Q: Can you use the "Trash Something" action to discard one of your
own Keepers (or Creepers)?
A: Yes.

Q: If someone plays the Double Agenda rule card, which permits two
goals, does the next card played need to be a Goal?

A: No. There's no hurry about adding a second Goal just because the
rules allow it.

Q: What happens if there are two Goals in play and someone gets rid
of the Double Agenda rule?

A: The player who caused the Rule to go away gets to choose which
Goal to discard and which one to keep in play.

Q: Do | get to play any cards or take any actions when it's not my turn?
A: When it's someone else's turn, there's not much you get to do --
there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will sometimes
need to make minor decisions and perform card maintenance during
other players' turns. For example, if someone plays a Hand Limit and
you have more cards in your hand than are allowed, you'll need to
decide what to keep and what to discard.

Q: If | have zero cards at the start of my turn and then | play the
No-Hand Bonus rule, do | get 3 extra cards, or is that only for the next
player actually starting to play with the No-Hand Bonus rule card
already on the table?

A: It's that second thing you said. Since the rule only applies at the
very beginning of a turn, the person who plays this rule has to wait.

Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players have
no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his cards for
nothing in return or is the action optional?

A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes, you'd
have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in return if
everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, "This is one of
those times when you can get something for nothing." Well, it's also a
time when you might give something away and get nothing back!

Q: Suppose | play Draw 2 and Use 'em and | draw two Goals, and
one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can | play the two Goals
in instant succession, with the one that doesn't make them win on top,
so that they don't get to win?

A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone to
win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in play, it
counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, they win.

Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use it on
the person you took it from or does it go in your own Keeper collection?
A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper.

Q: Can you combine this game with other versions of Fluxx?
A: No. Because this game has a unique perspective, that of being the
Martians, it doesn’t work well to combine it with other versions.

Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?
A: Yes! Please visit LooneyLabs.com for the latest FAQ updates!

Look for other Looney Labs games at a game store
near you: http://roster.looneylabs.com
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