A Solitaire Game about the Spanish Maquis
and their Battle Against Franco
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GAME OVERVIEW

Take on the role of the Spanish Maquis, fighting against the Francoist regime. Over a series of rounds,
you will undertake increasingly difficult missions. Defeating missions gains you the victory points you
need to win the game. Failing to defeat missions and enemies may cause you to lose the game. At the end
of each round, you must choose whether to end the resistance or risk it and take on another mission.




See Setup diagram on the next page

. Magquis: Shuffle the 24 Maquis cards and divide them into 2 equal face-down decks.
Designate one as the Hidden deck and place it on the left-hand side of the play area, leaving
space for a face-up Hidden discard pile. Designate the other deck as the Recruit deck and place it to
the right-hand side, leaving space for a face-up Revealed pile.

Drafting your Maquis
When you are comfortable with the game, we strongly recommend that you draft your
Maquis instead. Shuffle the 24 Maquis cards together and reveal the top 2 cards. Choose
one to add to the Hidden deck and the other to add to the Recruit deck. Repeat this
process until there are 12 cards in each deck. Then shuffle each deck separately.

Spies: Shuffle 3 Spy cards into the Hidden deck. Place the remaining spy cards face-up
near the play area.

Maquis and Spie k

The Maquis cards in the Hidden deck, the Hidden discard pile and your hand represent
the active members of the resistance. You will cycle through these cards as you play the
game, sometimes moving them to the Revealed pile after you play them.

The Maquis in the Revealed pile and Recruit deck are inactive, and not normally
available to you, but can be added to your active Maquis through special actions and
effects in the game.

Spies are not Maquis. They represent members of Franco's regime who have infiltrated
your team. Spy cards are unusable and serve only to clutter up your deck, discard

pile and hand. Some actions and effects allow you to remove Spies from the game, but
typically they will cycle through your deck as you draw and discard them.

Missions: Sort the 20 Mission cards by the Era and shuffle each set separately. Remove 4 cards

from the first era, 3 from the second era, and 3 from the third era and place them back in the
box. They will not be used in the game. Flip the 4 Mission cards from the first era face-up and place
them in a row, forming the initial set of Available Missions. Stack the 3 Mission cards from the
second era on top of the 3 from the third era to form a face-down Mission deck. Leave space for a
face-up pile of Defeated Missions.



Enemies: Shuffle the 32 Enemy cards and deal a number of Enemy cards face down next to
each available Mission equal to the Mission’s Garrison value. Leave the remaining Enemy
cards in a face-down Enemy deck. Leave space for a face-up Enemy discard pile.

Civilians: Shuffle the 8 Civilian cards and leave them face-down in a Civilian deck. Leave space
for a face-up Graveyard.

o Starting Hand: Draw an initial hand of 5 cards from the Hidden deck. Leave space for a Play

Area in front of you to play the cards from your hand.
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PLAYING THE GAME

The game is played over a series of rounds. Each round is divided into 4 phases:

1. PLAN 3 . AFTERMATH
2 . ATTACK 4 , RECOVER

These are further divided into a series of steps. Perform each phase and each step in the order
indicated below.

The game continues until you choose to end the resistance during the AFTERMATH phase or you
trigger one of the game’s three loss conditions:

# You fail two Missions (see AFTERMATH)
=+ You lose 5 civilians (see AFTERMATH)
« You draw a hand of all Spies (see RECOVER)

1. PLAN @

A) PLAY MAQUIS: You may play any number of Maquis from your hand, executing PLAN actions
if appropriate. See “Maquis Persona and Actions” below. Some PLAN actions allow you to scout
ahead, flipping the Enemies at Missions face up before you choose which to attack.

B) CHOOSE MISSION: Choose one of the Available Missions to attack this round. If there are any
remaining face-down Enemies at the chosen Mission, flip them face up now.

Maquis persona and actions

When you play a Maquis card, you must first choose its persona--hidden or revealed. Revealed
Magquis are more powerful than hidden Maquis but are lost at the end of the round. To record the

choice of persona, place revealed Maquis to your right and hidden Maquis to your left. See the Setup
diagram above.

After choosing a persona, you may perform the action indicated on the associated side of the card if
it matches the phase that you are currently in (PLAN or ATTACK). That is, you may perform PLAN
actions on Maquis played during the PLAN phase, ATTACK actions on Maquis played during the
ATTACK phase, and PLAN/ATTACK actions on Maquis when they are played in either phase.



You are never required to perform the action on a played Maquis, even if it matches the phase you

are in. However, if you choose to perform a Maquis action, you must perform it in full. For example,
Jacinto’s revealed action says “Discard a Maquis card from your hand and then draw two cards from
the Hidden deck.” You cannot perform this action if you do not have a Maquis to discard.

You must play all the Maquis cards in your hand each round, including any additional cards drawn
from Maquis actions and Mission effects. You may not choose to discard Maquis or keep them in your
hand for future rounds. You may never play the Spies from your hand.

Additional details about Maquis actions can be found in the Frequently Asked Questions section at
the end of the rules.

2 . ATTACK @

A) DEFEND EFFECTS TRIGGER: Any DEFEND effects on the chosen Mission and its Enemies
trigger. See “Mission and Enemy Effects” below.

B) PLAY MAQUIS: Play the remaining Maquis cards from your hand, executing ATTACK actions if
appropriate. See “Maquis Persona and Actions” above.

Remember! You must play all the Maquis cards in your hand each round, including any additional
cards drawn from Maquis actions.

Mission and Enemy Effects

Mission effects are active during the round in which the Mission is chosen, as are the effects on the
Mission’s Enemies. The effects on unchosen Missions and their Enemies are not active.

There are three types of effects which trigger at different times during the ATTACK phase

<+ DEFEND @: This effect triggers at the start of the ATTACK phase.

<+ DEFEAT : This effect triggers if this card is defeated during the ATTACK phase. It does not
trigger if this card is discarded or removed from the game in any other way.

<+ SURVIVE 9: This effect triggers if this card is not defeated during the ATTACK phase.

If multiple DEFEND or SURVIVE effects trigger at the same time, you choose the order in which
they resolve.

Additional details about Mission and Enemy effects can be found in the Frequently Asked Questions
section at the end of the rules.




C) DEFEAT TARGETS: Now use the Attack value on your Maquis to defeat some combination of
the chosen Mission and its Enemies (henceforth Targets).

« Total the Attack value on all the Maquis you’ve played during the PLAN and ATTACK phases this
round. Use the Revealed attack value for revealed Maquis and the Hidden Attack value for hidden
Magquis. This is your Attack Strength for the round.

2 Use your Attack Strength to defeat Targets one by one, in any order you choose. To defeat a
Target, you must reduce your Attack Strength by an amount equal to Defense value.

= Place defeated Enemies face-up into the Enemy discard pile and defeated Missions face-up into
the Defeated Missions pile. If a defeated Target has a DEFEAT effect, resolve it immediately. Any

DEFEND effects on defeated Targets immediately become inactive.

= Stop when all Targets are defeated or you don't have enough Attack Strength left to defeat any
more. Any excess Attack Strength is lost. You may not save it for the next round.

 Finally, resolve any SURVIVE effects on undefeated Enemies and then place them in the Enemy
discard pile.

You might not have enough Attack Strength to defeat the chosen Mission and all of its Enemies.
You will have to choose which Targets are the most important to you!

3 . AFTERMATH

A) CHECK FOR CIVILIAN LOSS: Some Mission and Enemy effects instruct you to draw cards
from the Civilian deck and place them face up in the Graveyard. Each Civilian card shows 0, 1, 2
or 3 civilians. Ifthe total number of civilians on the cards in the Graveyard is 5 or greater, you
immediately lose the game (see “Ending the Game” below).

B) MISSION OUTCOME: Now do one of the following, based on the outcome of the Mission you
chose this round:

=+ SUCCESS: If you defeated the Mission, draw the top card from the Mission deck and place it
face-up next to the other Available Mission cards. If there are no cards left in the Mission deck,
skip this step. Now draw a number of cards from the Enemy deck equal to the new Mission’s
Garrison value and place these cards face-down next to it. If there are no cards left in the Enemy
deck, shuffle the Enemy discard pile to form a new deck.




< FAILURE: If you did not defeat the Mission, flip it face-down. Do not draw a new Mission. You
will have 1 less available Mission for the remainder of the game. Ifthis is the second Mission you
have failed, you immediately lose the game (see “Ending the Game” below).

C) END THE RESISTANCE: You must now decide if you want to continue playing or end the
resistance. If there are no longer any available Missions, you must end the resistance.

« If you choose to continue, move on to the RECOVER phase.
= If you choose to end the resistance, move immediately to “Ending the Game”.

Be careful! If you choose to continue, you may defeat the next Mission and increase your score, but
you may instead lose the game. At some point, you will need to end the resistance if you want to win!

4 , RECOVER

A) CLEAN UP PLAYED MAQUIS: Place all the revealed Maquis that you played this round into
the face-up Revealed discard pile. Then place all the hidden Maquis, as well any Spy cards in your
hand, face-up into the Hidden discard pile.

B) DRAW NEW HAND: Draw a hand of 5 cards from the Hidden deck. If the deck is empty and
you need to draw a card, shuffle the Hidden discard pile to form a new Hidden deck and continue
drawing. If the Hidden discard pile is also empty, do not draw a card. It is possible that you will not
be able to draw a hand of 5 cards in later rounds.

C) CHECK FOR SPY LOSS: As the game progresses, you will lose Maquis from the Hidden deck
and may gain more Spies. If you ever draw a hand consisting of only Spies during the RECOVER
phase, you immediately lose the game (see “Ending the Game” below). Otherwise, begin a

new round.




The game can end in one of two ways:

< If you chose to end the resistance, total the point value on the cards in the Defeated Missions pile
and determine the result of your resistance using the table below.

= If instead you failed two Missions, lost 5 civilians, or drew a hand of all Spies, your resistance has
failed and you have lost the game. Do not total the point value on cards in the Defeated Missions area.

Points | Result

Defeat all § Epic Victory: The Maquis overwhelms Franco’s forces, overthrows
10 missions | the dictator, and liberates Spain.

22+ | Major Victory: The Maquis achieve major successes victory after
victory across Spain, forcing Franco to the negotiation table and
ultimately ending his dictatorship over Spain early.

19-21 | Victory: Victories against Franco’s forces inspire guerrilla activity
across Spain. While ultimately unsuccessful in liberating Spain, the
Magquis achieves major successes in their battle against Franco.

15-18 § Minor Victory: The Maquis are able to liberate some villages and
towns, raising the Spanish Republican flag over them. However, they
are ultimately defeated by Franco’s forces.

1-14 | Draw: The Maquis fight valiantly, but are unable to achieve any
major victories in the battle against Franco’s forces.

EXAMPLE OF PLAY

This is an example of play for the first turn in Resist!
You begin play with a hand of five cards drawn from the Hidden deck.




1. PLAN

You begin with the PLAN phase, in which you can play any
Magquis in hand, executing PLAN actions if appropriate. You
use Paquita's PLAN action @ to flip all Enemies at Destroy
the Railroad Bridge Mission face-up @ . Paquita's action
is a hidden action, so you place her on the left side of the
play area, to keep her separate from Maquis that might be
revealed later.

You decide not to play any other Maquis for PLAN actions,
so you must now choose a Mission. You don’t have to choose
the Destroy the Railroad Bridge Mission, even though you
flipped the Enemies there face-up, but since you’ve had the
chance to see which Enemies are at the Mission you decide
to selectit@.

2 . ATTACK @

After choosing the Mission, you move to the
ATTACK phase. First, the DEFEND effects
on the Grunt @ and Guard @ become
active. Next, you play all remaining Maquis,
executing ATTACK actions.

You start by using Consuelo’s revealed
ATTACK action @) to discard the grunt from
the Mission. This means that Consuelo will
also gain an Attack value of 1. You place
Consuelo on the right side of the play area to
indicate she has been revealed .




Next you play Abel for his hidden ATTACK
action. He will provide a +1 attack value for
each revealed Maquis. He is played to the left
side of the play area, alongside Paquita.

Finally, you play Roberto. Although Roberto
has no revealed ATTACK action, you reveal
him so that he contributes his 4 Attack value.

Revealed

The only card you have remaining is a Spy, which cannot be played. Now you must defeat the targets.
You begin by determining your Attack Strength, which is 9. You have 1 Attack value each from
Paquita and Abel due to their Hidden Attack value, 4 from Roberto due to his revealed Attack value,
1 from Consuelo because of the grunt that she discarded with her revealed ATTACK action, and an
additional 2 from Abel because of his hidden ATTACK action.

Now you use your 9 Attack Strength to defeat Targets one by one.

Hidden Revealed

You defeat the guard first, because its DEFEND effect requires you to defeat it before the Mission.
When you defeat the guard, you immediately discard it, which means its effect is no longer active.




You can now defeat the Mission with the 8 Attack
Strength you have remaining. The Mission has a DEFEAT
effect @ , which means it triggers as soon as you defeat
the Mission. Its effect allows you to discard an Enemy
from any other Mission. You take the Mission card and
start a face-up stack of defeated Missions. You now have
a score of 2.

Because you did not defeat the military Enemy, its
SURVIVE effect is resolved @) . You shuffle the two Hidden
Maquis (Paquita and Abel) and draw Abel, who is then
removed from the game. You then place the military into
the Enemy discard pile. There were no Enemy effects that
affected the Civilians, so you do not have to draw a card
from the Civilian deck.

3 . AFTERMATH

Next is the AFTERMATH phase, where you check how many Civilians have been lost, determine the
Mission outcome, and then decide whether to continue or end the resistance. You haven’t lost any
civilians. You defeated the Mission, so you draw the top card from the Mission deck and place it face-
up next to the other Available Mission cards. You draw a number of cards from the Enemy deck equal
to the new Mission’s Garrison value and place these cards face-down next to it. Since you’re just
starting the game, you decide to press on, rather than ending the resistance.

4 . RECOVER

You end the turn with the RECOVER phase. You place your revealed Maquis (Roberto and Consuelo)
in a face-up Revealed discard pile. You place your Hidden Maquis (Paquita) and the Spy card in your
hand in a face-up Hidden discard pile. You draw a hand of 5 cards from the Hidden deck. Your new
hand doesn't consist only of Spies, so you start the next round.




What happens if I run out of cards?
If an effect tells you to “draw” or “look at” a card in a deck, and there are not enough cards left,
shuffle the associated discard pile to form a new deck and then continue drawing or looking at
cards. If there are still not enough cards, draw as many as you can.

What happens when an effect tells me to discard a card?
When an effect tells you to discard a Maquis or a Spy, place it face-up in the Hidden discard pile.
When an effect tells you to discard an Enemy card, place it face-up in the Enemy discard pile.
“Discarding” an Enemy is not the same as “Defeating” it. Do not resolve DEFEATED effects on
Enemies when you discard them. You may use effects to discard Enemies when you have been
prevented from defeating them (for example, because of the effect on the grunt).

What happens when an effect tells me to remove a card from the game?

When an effect tells you to remove a card from the game, place it back in the box. Do not put it into
a discard pile.

What does it mean when an effect references Maquis which are “in play”’?
A Maquis card is considered “in play” after you’ve played it from your hand face up in front of you.
Magquis typically leave play during the “Cleanup Up Played Maquis” step of the RECOVER phase.
Magquis in your hand, in decks, or in piles are not considered in play.

What does it mean when an effect references a “revealed” or “hidden” Maquis?
Each Magquis card in play is either “hidden” or “revealed”, depending on the choice you made when
you played it. Maquis cards in your hand or in a deck or discard pile are not considered “hidden” or
“revealed”.

If an effect lets me draw a Maquis card, do I need to play it this round?

Yes, you must play it. You cannot “hide” Maquis cards in your hand or save them for the
next round.



How do I get the Maquis from the Recruit deck?
There are only a few ways of doing this. You need to defeat an Enemy jailor, defeat the “Jailbreak at
the Prison” Mission, or use Antonio or Ramona’s revealed actions. There are also a few actions and
effects which let you get back the cards from the Revealed discard pile.

Do I need to defeat all Enemies at a Mission in order to win the Mission?

No, you don’t. In fact, you typically won’t be able to defeat the Mission and all of its Enemies. You
need to choose which is more important!

During the ATTACK phase, do I add up the total Attack value on all my Maquis cards or do I assign
these values one card at a time

You total the value on all of your Maquis cards, including those played during the PLAN phase. You
then assign this total value to targets, one card at a time.

Is there a limit to how many enemies can be at one Mission?

No, there is no limit. The largest Garrison value for a Mission is 5, but some actions and effects
allow you to move Enemies to other Missions

When evaluating the timing of an Enemy engineer’s effect (+1 defense) and Benigno’s revealed
action (-1 defense), who goes first?

The Engineer’s happens first. The Engineer’s DEFEND effect happens in the first step of the
ATTACK phase. Jugar’s ATTACK action happens in the second step, when you play him from
your hand.

Can I use Antonio or Celia’s hidden action if I don’t have a Spy in my hand?

No, you must be able to perform an action in full in order to use it. The only exception is if you run
out of cards to draw (see first FAQ question above).
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